top of page
  • Writer's picturenestrada20

"Ode to Joy" - Kodaly

This piece felt like it was going to be easier but felt harder. Ode to Joy is a well-known pice and it is seen in a lot of beginner band music. I felt good because I was able to find the "Mi" and I knew that "Mi" would be heard throughout most of the piece. It was tricky trying to first get that main melody that was repeated several times because I knew that it was stepwise but I sometimes would not move at the right time. Once I found the main melody getting harmony was a challenge. I tried to assign some solfege but figured just singing some "lu's" would help me try and get what I need. I could hear that the harmony was close together and I would most likely be good to start on a "Do" or "Sol" since the starting pitch is "Mi". This was a good exercise.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page