top of page
  • Writer's picturenestrada20

Interview Assignment: "Pin Pon es un muñeco"

For this interview assignment, I chose to interview my mom. My mom’s side of the family is from Peru and I was curious to know if she knew any lullabies in Spanish or specifically from Peru. The lullaby that my mom remembered was just a standard Spanish lullaby, but it was nice to see the joy that it brought her while thinking back to lullabies sung to her by her aunt and mom. This lullaby was passed down from my great aunt who taught it to my grandmother who sang it to me. Also, it was interesting to learn that my great aunt from my grandfather’s side also sang this lullaby to my mom’s cousin as well. Unfortunately, I did not remember this lullaby when my mom told me that my grandmother would sing it to me, so I enjoyed relearning this lullaby. My mom explained to me how this lullaby was intended to be a children's song that helped teach kids how to get ready for bed such as washing their hands or brushing their teeth. Each verse was an instruction. The lullaby that my mom introduced me to was called "Pin Pon es un muñeco" which is based off of a television show character based in Chile who was named Pin Pon and was made out of cardboard. This children's song is a well known Mexican game song that actually has the instructions 1. Pretend to wash your face, 2. Pretend to comb your hair, 3. Rub your eyes pretending you are crying, 4. Pretend to eat soup, 5. Pretend your hands are like stars and they are blinking, 6. Put your hands on the side of your face pretending to go to sleep, 7. Shake hands with the child. This game song is great to use as a lullaby before bed or before nap time with younger children. It was nice getting to learn about this lullaby from my mom and exploring it with my younger cousin. We do not practice speaking Spanish in our household unless we are with my grandparents so relearning this lullaby was a great way to help carry tradition and is something I hope I can teach my future children/nephew and niece.


Original Lyrics (Spanish):

Pin Pon es un muñeco

muy guapo de cartón,

se lava su carita

con agua y con jabón


Se desenreda el pelo

con peine de marfil,

y aunque se da estirones

no llora ni hace así.


Cuando le dan la sopa

no ensucia el delantal

pues come con cuidado

parece un colegial


Apenas las estrellas

comienzan a salir

Pin Pon se va a la cama

y se acuesta a dormir


Pin Pon dame la mano

con un fuerte apretón,

pues quiero ser tu amigo

Pin Pon Pin Pon Pin Pon

PIN-PON




English Translation:

Pin Pon is a very handsome doll

Made out of cardboard.

(1) He will wash his face

with soap and water.


(2) When he combs his hair

with an ivory comb,

When he pulls his hair

(3) He will not cry nor go like this.


(4) When he's given his soup,

He will not stain his bib.

Since he'll eat carefully,

He looks like a school boy.


(5) When the stars in the sky

Start to blink.

(6) Pin Pon goes to bed

And goes to sleep.


(7) Pin Pon give me your hand,

Give it a good squeeze.

Because I want to be your friend,

Pin Pon… Pin Pon…

Pin Pon… Pin Pon!




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MUS3852: Chapter 2 Assignment

Overall Concept: Communicating Justice and Equality based on chapter 2 of Music and Social Justice: A Guide for Elementary Educators by Cathy Benedict Unit: Lullabies Introduce this topic by writing t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page